APQC Announces Inaugural Excellence in Knowledge Management Award; Names 13 Winning Organizations

Award recognizes organizations achieving real-world impact from
knowledge management programs, including improved productivity,
accelerated innovation, faster decision-making and decreased cycle time
to competency.

HOUSTON–(BUSINESS WIRE)–lt;a href=”https://twitter.com/hashtag/APQC?src=hash” target=”_blank”gt;#APQClt;/agt;–APQC,
the benchmarking and best practices research firm, has recognized
thirteen organizations as winners of its first-ever Excellence in
Knowledge Management
award. The award is based on an analysis from
APQC’s Knowledge
Management Capability Assessment Tool
(KM CAT), which provides an
evidence-based methodology with which to measure and evaluate KM
competencies across four categories: strategy, people, process and
content and information technology.

The winners of APQC’s inaugural Excellence in Knowledge Management
award include:

  • Bupa Health Insurance
  • Grant Thornton LLP
  • Infosys Ltd
  • Mercer
  • NextEra Energy – Power Generation Division
  • Schlumberger
  • Royal Dutch Shell
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) – Divisions: Pacific Ocean, Great
    Lakes and Ohio River, South Atlantic, Southwestern, Research and
    Development Center
  • U.S. Internal Revenue Service

“The 2019 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners have created
sustainable programs that are yielding great results for the business,”
said Dr.
Carla O’Dell, chairman of APQC
. “This award is a testament to the
practical, productive and measurable uses of knowledge these hardworking
organizations have put in place.”

“For years, APQC has been conducting knowledge management assessments
with hundreds of organizations around the world,” noted Cindy
Hubert, APQC executive director of client solutions
. “We are excited
to publicly recognize those knowledge programs that have achieved high
levels of maturity and to showcase the value they are bringing to their

By measuring every aspect of a KM program, from objectives and business
case development to specific processes and technologies, the KM CAT
identifies how KM programs stack up against others as well as where they
fall on APQC’s Levels
of Knowledge Management MaturitySM
. These levels are
based on criteria developed from best practices in KM and map the
current state of KM and internal knowledge flow processes in order to:

  • Assess the maturity of the enablers and infrastructures employed,
  • Evaluate knowledge flow processes and supporting approaches,
  • Set business process improvement goals through the flow of knowledge,
  • Direct organizational change, and
  • Benchmark similar efforts among internal units or with external

As a result, organizations determine the degree of sophistication of
their KM programs and the return on investment (ROI) from their efforts,
thus providing a clear sense of strengths, gaps, opportunities for
improvement and the appropriate steps to enhance knowledge sharing and
reuse capabilities.

The 2019 Excellence in Knowledge Management award winners were
those organizations (at the enterprise and business-unit level) scoring
at a 3, 4 or 5 maturity level to standardize, optimize or innovate,

Those interested in submitting for the 2020 award, please visit APQC’s
website to learn more


APQC helps organizations work smarter, faster, and with greater
confidence. It is the world’s foremost authority in benchmarking, best
practices, process and performance improvement and knowledge management.
APQC’s unique structure as a member-based nonprofit makes it a
differentiator in the marketplace. APQC partners with more than 500
member organizations worldwide in all industries. With more than 40
years of experience, APQC remains the world’s leader in transforming


Ross Coulter

error: Content is protected !!